Dishes to Destruction

As we grow older we all realize how little things that we used to deem entertaining now become tedious. When I was a child I loved to do the dishes, I would beg my parents to let me do them and rejoice when they did. Now that I live with 3 other girls and it’s my job to do the dishes all the time I have began to grumble about it.

Yes I do realize it’s technically not my responsibility to clean up after them too, but when your two bedroom apartment is a tornado zone everyday you can’t stand the mess. Lately I have been trying to cut back on the complaining that I do. Complaining not only brings down my mood, but also the moods of the people who have to listen to me. I have started to remember this saying and meditate on it throughout my day.

Have you prayed about it as much as you have talked about it?

The answer for me is always no and as I’ve gotten to dig deeper into the word I realized that my mouth shoots off far faster than my brain comprehends sometimes. When I did the dishes tonight, I grumbled and I complained. Not only that but I even put some of the dirty tupperware containers on my roommates bed. This is where we get lead into destruction.

Destruction by definition means: the action or process of causing so much damage to something that it no longer exist or cannot be repaired. IE. Google

Now here I have done something passive aggressive enough to start a fight in my own home. Why? Because I am simply not thankful for the food that we’ve been given to dirty our dishes. Instead I whine and complain about having to put in a little effort.

As Eeyore always states: “Could be worse, not sure how, but it could be.”

As a child I loved to play in the water while doing the dishes, I would imagine that the dishes talked back like they did to Belle or that I was Ariel and contact with water would turn me into a mermaid. When did my creativity and imagination stop putting in the effort to make the ordinary look extraordinary. I’m not sure, but I’m willing to work at it until I reverse the effect.

Dishes can lead to destruction if we aren’t willing to put in effort and contribute to making the system work as a whole.

Dreams and Stars,

Teri J

Leave a comment